Race Failure, Take 2

Yup. For the second time in 3 weeks, I have missed a local race.

The first time, 2 weeks ago, it was entirely my fault. I left the house way too late, and the race was about to start by the time I got there (read my post “Race Failure” for more on that). So I took that in stride; I had no-one to blame but myself.

But tonight was entirely different. I got there almost on time (only 3 minutes late!), but it wouldn’t have mattered if I had gotten there a day early, because the race was cancelled. There was just a small handwritten sign stating “No Race,” and that was it. Granted, it is a local weekly race with all registration done right before it begins, but they could have at least notified the racers of the cancellation on their website. So after psyching myself up for a 5k, I was let down for the second time in 3 weeks.

But, being as I was already dressed for a run and had yet to run tonight, I decided to go out anyway and try to PR for my mile time. I was 3 seconds off, but it still felt pretty good. In fact, I tried the same 2 weeks ago after my first missed race, and was 5 seconds off from my mile PR. Maybe I should consider missing a few more races…

Leave a Reply

