Return of the Five Fingers!

That’s right, I am back to the Vibram Five Fingers. After a month-long hiatus due to an injured knee, I have done my first run with the Five Fingers. And wow, it felt good.

The run was a short speed-work session (getting ready for my first time racing the Fifth Avenue Mile!), and I’m just getting over a cold. I wasn’t particularly fast, and the shoes were fine, not bothering me but not feeling amazing either. And then, as I began to cool down, I decided to do a few striders (100 m sprints, useful for learning good form). It was in these that the Five Fingers shined.

As I headed into the straightaway, I began to accelerate to sprinting speed and had to hold myself back from accelerating too fast (these shoes are great for accelerating, you can grip the ground so well in them). But by the time I hit full speed, I felt the weirdest thing: my feet.

Yup. I felt my feet. But think about it, how often do you think about your feet when they’re not injured? I know I take them for granted. But not tonight. As I sprinted down the track at full speed I could feel my toes gripping the ground and pushing off, I could feel the turnover of my feet, I could feel the track in my soles. And it felt good.

Hopefully this will be the beginning of something new: a time when I can consistently train in the Five Fingers without month-long breaks. And if I train in them enough, I might even wear them to my next race. They might be clothes with a ‘speed limit’ (read my post “Dressing Fast” if you have no idea what I’m talking about), but that won’t stop me. After all, how often do I have the opportunity to look utterly ridiculous in something that also helps me run faster? On second thought, don’t answer that.

Leave a Reply

