My First Mile

No, this is not a post about my first mile. It is a race about my first mile race. Yeas, I probably should have clarified that in the title, but it’s too late now. No, you’re right, it’s not too late, but I refuse to change it. Especially now that I’ve begun the post talking about the title; changing the title would now require reqwriting everything I’ve written so far. Anyway, enough about the title. This is about my first mile race, after all.

Are those Five Fingers I see on that guy? Hard to tell...

It was September 26. The 5th Avenue Mile. I was full of nervous excitement for my shortest race ever, and worried that my tendency to start out too fast would seriously hurt my chances in the mile. And boy, did it ever.

My much faster brother was racing as well, and I knew when I saw him at the 1/4 mile mark that I had gone out too fast. It wasn’t until later that I found out that my brother had gone out too fast also- meaning out I had gone out WAY too fast. But there was nothing I could do about it at that point but keep running.

The craziest thing about the race was seeing the finish line just past halfway in. You want to sprint to the finish, but then realize that

A) you practically already are sprinting

and B) who sprints to the finish halfway through a race?

Another weird thing that happened was that during the last 1/4 mile or so, my arms felt like they were physically weighted down. I’m not the only person to experience this, I hear, but it was a first for me. The mile does strange things to the body.

I forgot to mention that this was my first race in my Vibram Five Fingers! To be honest, I was disappointed. When I did speedwork in the Five Fingers I always ran on my toes, in a sprinting position. It was comfortable for short distances, and gave me better turnover. But then at the race, about halfway through, I had to go off my toes and start landing normally (on the heel and mid-foot). It could be my muscles just weren’t prepared for keeping that stance for so long, or it could also be that it was the wrong way to race in the first place.

Well, that about sums up my first mile race. I couldn’t have gone into more detail than I did because it all seemed like a blur to me. For longer races, I can break it down by mile, but I have to get used to breaking a race down into less.

Oh, and I nearly forgot! I PR’ed! Granted, it was automatic considering it was my first race, but I beat my non-race PR by 9 seconds, so it counts for something.

Leave a Reply

