Winter Running

Ah, winter.

Well, it’s not official yet, but my gauge of winter is when my water in my bottle ends up significantly colder by the end of a run, and that test was passed a couple of weeks back. So, in my books, winter running has arrived.

I love winter running. Don’t get me wrong, it’s psychologically much harder to get outside than in the other seasons, but there’s nothing like a trail run in the snow. Unfortunately, I have been too busy and/or lazy to go outside, so most of my short runs have been on the treadmill. But that will change soon, due to a matter beyond my control. My treadmill is breaking.

It’s happened before; the belt is nearly worn out and will break soon. So it seems that I am being punished for not taking advantage of the beautiful running weather. Beautiful might be an overstatement, especially for someone who prefers night runs- it can get pretty blistery in New York on winter nights.

By the way, Sarah Palin was quoted (in Runner’s World, I believe) as saying she was a runner and toughs it in the Alaskan weather. So for those in need of motivation to run outside in the cold, just think “If Sarah Palin can do it…”

One comment on “Winter Running

  1. matflec says:

    This video of Tony Krupicka from Running Times got me thinking about running in winter — http://bit.ly/gk6rJ7

    So, I did a wordpress search on winter running and came across your post. Thanks for sharing the insights & the great pics.

Leave a Reply

